Oh Twitter, I love you…

Yesterday, I had the fortune to attend 140 Characters – Des Moines, a day conference for meeting and discussing social media with like-minded people.

If you know me, you probably know that I used Twitter to make friends in Des Moines, IA.  I moved to the city in 2008 and for one year, I sat alone after work, watching television, went on dates from Craigslist and hung out with my parents. That was my life. I could not seem to find my people in this city. I’d catch glimpses of them at various concerts (attended alone, after I put my big girl pants on) or at coffee shops. But, when I tried to become friends with some interesting women, it was a big old fail.

Twitter is what saved me and Twitter is what helped me grow in this town. I went to a Tweetup and found interesting people. I followed them. They followed me. I got invited to events. I stalked people that posted provocative entries (you can do that on Twitter – and it’s welcomed *thanks @lyzl). Twitter lead me to my roller derby team and lead me to volunteer for Character Counts in Iowa.

So it’s no wonder that my interest has been piqued when it comes to Twitter and business. The idea that the power is with the customers these days and that businesses have to be engaging the whole person, not just their pocketbook is a fascinating new development.  A few points that caught my interest yesterday:

@MichaelLibbie (advertising and marketing)

  • ‘Social media takes work, imagination, perserverence and lots and lots of courage’
  • 95% of people don’t get social media.  How do I not fall into that 95%?
    • Discipline – What is your strategy? Do you want to meet people? Do you want to build relationships?
    • Blog regularly – budget your time, start a blog if you haven’t already (and if you haven’t, why not?! You don’t have  a voice if you don’t have a blog)
    • Broadcast original content

@davemurr (a marketing and digital communications strategist)

  • ‘The days of individual achievement are over, now it is about community achievement.’
  • Social media = an online representation of our offline behavior
  • Meet people on Twitter, learn their stories, shut off your computer/put down your handheld, share connections and stories with others in real life and… create amazing collaborative stuff that you wouldn’t have been able to do beforehand!

Dave Murr’s talk on community has re-spurred my thoughts on what to do the money that was donated in Atticus’ name. More on that tomorrow though…

Leave a Reply

